Follow

Screens/Docs don't show on my device anymore! Why?

More than likely you have added a Folder to your account - either directly or by installing an example app like the Field Sales App.

 

When a Folder is added to your account, our system assumes that you want to enforce security permissions for all Screens and Docs that a user is allowed to access on their device.

This feature enables you to have many different departments/teams using the same app, but see completely different screens/docs when they log in.

 

To restore access to your desired Screens/Docs, you must either:

 

  1. Remove all folders - this will switch the system back into "open access", meaning all Screens/Docs are visible by all users.
  1. To do so, go to App Builder > Screens, and hover over the folder name on the left hand side  
  2. A little "cog" icon will become visible; click on this icon to open the Folder Settings
  3. In the Folder Settings popup, click the Delete button.  
    Don't worry, your Screens/Docs in that folder are safe - deleting a Folder has no effect on its contents

 

After removing all folders using the steps above, you should now see all Screens and Docs on your device again.

 

OR

 

  1. Add your desired Screens/Docs into a folder that your user has access to.
  1. Go to the Screens/Docs page (App Builder > Screens/Docs)
  2. Tick the checkboxes next to the desired Screens/Docs listed in the All folder
  3. Click the Organize button to assign your selections to the folder
  4. Click the "+" icons next to the chosen folders to assign folders to your Screen/Doc selections.

Once you have done this, you need to ensure that your user has access to the folder.

  1. Go to App Builder > Screens, and hover over the folder name on the left hand side  
  2. A little "cog" icon will become visible; click on this icon to open the Folder Settings
  3. In the "Assign to Users" field, chose the users that you wish to have access to the folder.
    Doing this will give them access to all Screens and Docs contained in the folder.
  4. Click the "Save" button to save your changes.

 

For full details on folders, see the Folders section of this documentation site.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk